3267 Views |  Like

An emotional and historic evening at the 2014 La Musa Awards‏

An emotional and historic evening at the 2014 La Musa Awards‏
Photo credits – Manny Hernandez & Alberto E. Tamargo

On October 12, 2014 an impressive celebration took place during the second annual induction gala of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame LA MUSA AWARDS® honored some of the greatest Latin music-makers of all time. From the posthumous homage to Argentinean composer Carlos Gardel by singer Diego Torres who performed Gardel’s classic tune, “El Día Que Me Quieras” (The Day You Love Me), to the final performance of the evening when singers Jon Secada and Ednita Nazario came together on stage to perform inductee Gloria Estefan’s epic anthem of hope and transcendence”Coming out of the Dark”.

The evening was hosted by the actress, model and activist Eglantina Zingg, who returned to LA MUSA AWARD ® during an unforgettable event that brought together the biggest stars of Latin music in an emotional celebration honoring their music and its makers. (complete list of the honorees at the bottom).

Singers Luis Enrique, Angel Lopez and Beatriz Luengo performed a medley which included some of Omar Alfanno’s biggest hits, “El Gran Varón,”Y Hubo Alguien”, “Que Alguien Me Diga”, “Asi Es La Vida”, “A Puro Dolor”. A special recognition to the national anthem of Panama was performed by singer, and songwriter Erika Ender. CNN En Español, author, anchor, and producer Ismael Cala, presented the Desi Arnaz Pioneer Award to the visionary and pioneer of Hispanic radio in the United States and founder of SBS, Raul Alarcon Sr.

R&B singer Miguel received the La Musa Victory Award and performed a medley which included the worldwide hit “Adorn” and the theme “Destined to Die.” To honor Lolita de la Colina, one of the composers inducted this year in the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame, Rafael Negrete performed a medley with two of the biggest hits of the Mexican composer, “Sin Caballero No Hay Dama”, “Se Me Olvido Que Te Olvide.”

Natalia Jimenez, recipient of last year’s La Musa Elena Casals Award, was on hand to present the ‘La Musa’ trophy to Latin Grammy winner, Marlow Rosadowho performed “Cuando Marlow Suena El Piano” and “Kuli-Yuki” performed by the young Cuban-American singer De La Torre. Every year the La Musa Awards® shines the spot light on an upcoming new star. Last year, El Dasa was featured and now he is topping the Latin charts.

A stunning tribute to Rafael Perez Botija was performed by David Bisbal, who sang one of Botija’s classics, “Desesperado.”. Leila Cobo, entertainment journalist who is executive director of Latin content and programming for Billboard was presented the La Musa Conquistador Award to Jencarlos Canela who performed a medley with his biggest hits including “Amor Quédate” and “Tu Sombra”.

Argentinean composer, musician and music producer, winner of several Oscars,Gustavo Santaolalla performed one of his classics and was responsible for introducing the Ralph S. Peer Publishers Award (Premio Editores Ralph S. Peer) to renowned music industry executive, Zach Horowitz. The Icon Award(Premio Icono) was presented to Spanish singer, songwriter and producer,Alejandro Sanz, one of the most influential artists of the past two decades, who performed his worldwide hit “No Me Compares.”

The Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame 2014 Inductees are: Gloria Estefan (Cuba),Omar Alfanno (Panama), Lolita De La Colina (Mexico), Rafael Pérez Botija(Spain).

The 2015 list of the 24 Nominees will be announced on Jan 28th in two categories (performing and non-performing) and the voting begins immediately after the press conference. The final 6 Inductees will be decided by it’s members. Free membership is open to all at at LSHOF’s official Website (www.LatinSongHall.org).


-La Musa Awards – Gloria Estefan (Cuba), Omar Alfanno (Panamá), Lolita De La Colina (México), Rafael Perez Botija (España), and a recognition was posthumously awarded to Carlos Gardel and Alfredo Le Pera (Argentina).

* Premio Pionero Desi Arnaz: Raúl Alarcón Sr.

* Premio La Musa Elena Casals: Marlow Rosado

* Premio Triunfador – Miguel

* Premio Conquistador – JenCarlos Canela

-Premio Editores – Zach Horowitz

MUSA14 List of Inductees, Honorees, Presenters & Performers:

Alejandro Sanz

Ángel Lopez

Beatriz Luengo

Claudia Brant

David Bisbal

De La Torre

Desmond Child

Diego Torres

Ednita Nazario

Emilio Estefan

Erika Ender

Gabriel Mores

Gloria Estefan

Gustavo Santaolalla

Ismael Cala

Jencarlos Canela

Jon Secada

Leila Cobo

Luis Enrique

Marlow Rosado

Mauricio Zeilic


Natalia Jiménez

Rafael Negrete

Ralph Peer II

Raúl Alarcón Jr

Rudy Perez

X Alfonso

Zach Horowitz