1708 Views |  Like

Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame Announces 2014 Inductees

Musical giants Omar Alfanno, Ricardo Arjona,Rafel Pérez Botija, Lolita De La Colina, Gloria Estefan & Juan Luis Guerra will become the latest inductees of the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame at the 2nd Annual LA MUSA Induction Awards Dinner. These legendary songwriters wrote such mega-hits as “A Puro Dolor,” “Señora De Las Cuatro Decadas,” “Gavilan o Paloma,” “Alguien Como Tu,” “Anything For You”, and “Bachata Rosa”.

The star-studded induction event will be held on Saturday,October 18th at The Ritz Carlton in Miami Beach. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.
“These 2014 Inductees have been changing the course of Latin Music for decades. It is time the world takes a deep low bow to them” said LSHOF Chairman/CEO, Desmond Child.
 LSHOF President, Rudy Perez adds “they are responsible for writing some of the songs of our lives, I can’t wait to celebrate their contributions at our “LA MUSA” Awards Gala”.

About the inductees

Omar Alfanno:
Omar Alfanno is a Panamanian singer-songwriter of Latin Music who is most active in the salsa and merengue genres. He has composed for musicians like
Tony Vega, Luis Enrique, Melina Leon, Jerry Rivera, Victor Manuelle, Gilberto Santa Rosa, and Marc Anthony. His most successful song, “A Puro Dolor” performed by the Son by Four, reached the Billboard Hot 100.
The song was awarded a Lo Nuestro Award, the Billboard Music Award, and a Latin Grammy nomination in 2000.

Ricardo Arjona:
Ricardo Arjona is one of the most successful Latin American artists of all time, with more than 20 million albums sold. He is often called El Animal Nocturno(The Nocturnal Animal), thanks to his breakthrough success with his fourth studio album which bears the same name. His music ranges from ballads to Latin pop, rock, pop rock, Cuban music, and more recentlycappella performances, and a mixture of Tejano music and Norteño music, and other Afro-American and Latin sounds. Arjona is noted for his lyrical style, and often addresses topics such as love, sexuality, violence, racism and immigration.

Rafael Pérez Botija:
Rafael Pérez Botija is a longtime arranger and musical director for
Jose Jose. Mr. Botija has also composed many of the Latin superstar’s most famous songs, including “Payaso,” “Desesperado,” “Me Basta,” and “Mi Vida.”

Lolita De La Colina:
Lolita De La Colina is a popular singer and songwriter from the 70’s based in Mexico. She has written songs for Manoella Torres, Lupita D’Alessio, Sophy, Jose Jose, Jose Luis Rodriguez “El Puma”, Raphael, Moncho, Manolo Muñoz, Vikki Carr, Ana Gabriel, Maria Dolores Pradera, Olga Guillot, Emmanuel, Pedro Fernandez, Lucero, Roberto Blades, Pepe Aguilar, La Lupe, Marco Antonio Muñiz, many other singers in different music styles.

Gloria Estefan:
Gloria Estefan is a Cuban-born American singer-songwriter, actress, and entrepreneur. She is in the top 100 best selling music artists with an estimated
100 million records sold worldwide, 31.5 million of those in the United States alone.She has won seven Grammy awards and is the most successful crossover performer in Latin music to date.

Juan Luis Guerra:
Juan Luis Guerra is a Dominican singer songwriter and producer who has sold
over 30 million records, and won numerous awards including 15 Latin Grammy Awards, two Grammy Awards, and two Latin Billboard Music Awards. Most recently, he won the Latin Grammy Award for Producer of Year in 2012. Guerra is one of the most internationally recognized Latin artists of recent decades. His popular style of merengue and Afro-Latin fusion has garnered him considerable success throughout Latin America.

LSHOF: Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame (LSHOF) mission is to educate, preserve, honor and celebrate the legacy of the greatest Latin songwriters from all over the world and their music in every genre while developing and inspiring new songwriters through workshops, showcases, scholarships and digital initiatives. Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame was founded by legendary songwriters Desmond Child & Rudy Perez under the auspices of the Songwriters Hall Of Fame in 2012.